Cynthia Tucker has left The Atlanta Journal-Constitution building*. She will begin teaching at UGA’s Grady College of Journalism this week.

Now I don’t read opinion pieces and I don’t really share her political leanings but it is never good for a paper when a Pulitzer Prize winning journalist leaves, to state the obvious. Good luck to Miss Tucker in her new venture. She predicts she’ll write a book in the future, in addition to teaching the next generation of bright-eyed and bushy-tailed youngsters eager to join a dying industry eager to embrace the noble profession of journalism.

Interested fans can read her final column here.

*Yeah, not really. She was booted to D.C. a few years ago and was working out of the Cox bureau.


2 Responses to Goodbye Cynthia Tucker

  1. Dave Bearse says:

    Tucker being a good editorial writer was evidenced by the many letters to the editor that began along the lines of “I normally don’t agree with Ms. Tucker, but she was spot on about….”

    That doesn’t occur with te AJC’s conservative editorialists because they stick to approved GOP talking points, or write nothing at all. Remember Mr. Wooten writing about a column a month in opposition to rail transit when the Dems controlled the show. Has he written a word about T-SPLOST rail transit, or even the T-SPLOST overall? He can’t write either for or against. It’s not an approved GOP talking point.

  2. JMPrince says:

    A reasonably reliable ‘lefty’ voice @ the AJC, and so had a delimited shelf life there. They used to have a stable of prize worthy writers, Charles Seabrook for one, Tom Teepen for another. But each one deemed ‘too lib’ for the Ga. clay went away. CT will do the syndication bit for awhile, (as Teepen did) and slowly drift away to the speaker circuit and a UGA professorship. And the AJC itself will drift ever more into everyday irrelevancy, but for some blog notices for their regular reporting & commentary there. Great regular reporting is now rarely seen in print, ditto for commentary, at least ’round here. JMP